Tuesday, February 25, 2020

May 2020 Historical Fiction Releases (Part 2)

Lots of releases in May this year!

Lionheart by Ben Kane 

Release Date: May 14, 2020



Irish nobleman Ferdia has been imprisoned in Wales to ensure the good behaviour of his rebellious father. But during a skirmish to relieve a castle under attack, Ferdia saves the life of the man who would become one of the most legendary warriors in history: Richard Coeur de Lion. The Lionheart.

Taken as Richard's squire, Ferdia crosses the Narrow Sea to defeat the rebellious nobles in Aquitaine, besieging castles and fighting bloody battles with brutal frequency.

(Full description at Goodreads)



The Queen's Secret: A Novel of England's World War II Queen by Karen Harper 

Release Date: May 19, 2020



1939. As the wife of the King George VI and the mother of the future queen, Elizabeth—“the queen mother”—shows a warm, smiling face to the world. But it’s no surprise that Hitler himself calls her the “Most Dangerous Woman in Europe.” For behind that soft voice and kindly demeanor is a will of steel.

In this riveting novel of royal secrets and intrigue, Karen Harper lifts the veil on one of the world’s most fascinating families, and how its “secret weapon” of a matriarch maneuvered her way through one of the most dangerous chapters of the century.

(Full description at Goodreads)



The Sun Sister: A Novel (The Seven Sisters Book 6) by Lucinda Riley 

Release Date: May 19, 2020



Electra d’Apli├Ęse is a woman who seems to have it all: as a top model, she has beauty, fame, and wealth. But beneath the glittery veneer, she’s cracking under the pressure of it all. The last straw comes when she finds out her father has died and she turns to alcohol and drugs to ease the pain. As friends and colleagues fear for her health, Electra receives a shocking letter from a complete stranger who claims to be her grandmother.

(Full description at Goodreads)



The City of Tears: A Novel (Burning Chambers Book 2) by Kate Mosse 

Release Date: May 26, 2020



August 1572: Minou Joubert and her husband Piet travel to Paris to attend a royal wedding which, after a decade of religious wars, is intended to finally bring peace between the Catholics and the Huguenots.

Also in Paris is their oldest enemy, Vidal, in pursuit of an ancient relic that will change the course of history.

Within days of the marriage, thousands will lie dead in the street, and Minou’s family will be scattered to the four winds . . .



The Prisoner's Wife by Maggie Brookes 

Release Date: May 26, 2020



In the dead of night, a Czech farm girl and a British soldier travel through the countryside. Izabela and prisoner of war Bill have secretly married and are on the run, with Izzy dressed as a man. The young husband and wife evade capture for as long as possible—until they are cornered by Nazi soldiers with tracking dogs.

Izzy's disguise works. The couple are assumed to be escaped British soldiers and transported to a POW camp. However, their ordeal has just begun, as they face appalling living conditions and the constant fear of Izzy's exposure.

(Full description at Goodreads)



The First Actress: A Novel of Sarah Bernhardt by C. W. Gortner 

Release Date: May 26, 2020



The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt—the world’s first modern actress and international celebrity—dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz.

From her beginnings as the daughter of a courtesan to her extraordinary transformation into the most celebrated actress of her era, Sarah Bernhardt is brought to life by an internationally bestselling author praised for his historical novels featuring famous women.

(Full description at Goodreads)

Sunday, February 23, 2020

Ebook Deals

Click the cover to view and buy the book in the Kindle store. While I only post links to the Kindle store, often times you can find the same titles on sale at other stores.

US Kindle Deals, fiction under $4, non-fiction under $6:

                       



UK Kindle Deals, fiction under £3, non-fiction under £4:

                       

Disclaimer: Ebook prices are subject to change anytime. I can only promise they are under a certain price at the time I post them.

Friday, February 21, 2020

May 2020 Historical Fiction Releases

Universe of Two: A Novel by Stephen P. Kiernan

Release Date: May 5, 2020



From the critically acclaimed author of The Baker’s Secret and The Curiosity comes a novel of conscience, love, and redemption—a fascinating fictionalized account of the life of Charlie Fisk, a gifted mathematician who was drafted into Manhattan Project and ordered against his morals to build the detonator for the atomic bomb. With his musician wife, he spends his postwar life seeking redemption—and they find it together.

(Full description at Goodreads)



The Paris Hours: A Novel by Alex George 

Release Date: May 5, 2020



Camille was the maid of Marcel Proust, and she has a secret: when she was asked to burn her employer’s notebooks, she saved one for herself. Now she is desperate to find it before her betrayal is revealed. Souren, an Armenian refugee, performs puppet shows for children that are nothing like the fairy tales they expect. Lovesick artist Guillaume is down on his luck and running from a debt he cannot repay—but when Gertrude Stein walks into his studio, he wonders if this is the day everything could change. And Jean-Paul is a journalist who tells other people’s stories, because his own is too painful to tell. When the quartet’s paths finally cross in an unforgettable climax, each discovers if they will find what they are looking for.

(Full description at Goodreads)



Exile Music: A Novel by Jennifer Steil

Release Date: May 5, 2020



As a young girl growing up in Vienna in the 1930s, Orly has an idyllic childhood filled with music. Her father plays the viola in the Philharmonic, her mother is a well-regarded opera singer, her beloved and charismatic older brother holds the neighborhood in his thrall, and most of her eccentric and wonderful extended family live nearby. Only vaguely aware of Hitler's rise or how her Jewish heritage will define her family's identity, Orly spends her days immersed in play with her best friend and upstairs neighbor, Anneliese. Together they dream up vivid and elaborate worlds, where they can escape the growing tensions around them. But in 1938, Orly's peaceful life is shattered when the Germans arrive.

(Full description at Goodreads)



Summer Darlings by Brooke Lea Foster

Release Date: May 5, 2020



In 1962, coed Heddy Winsome leaves her hardscrabble Irish Brooklyn neighborhood behind and ferries to glamorous Martha’s Vineyard to nanny for one of the wealthiest families on the island. But as she grows enamored with the alluring and seemingly perfect young couple and chases after their two mischievous children, Heddy discovers that her academic scholarship at Wellesley has been revoked, putting her entire future at risk.

(Full description at Goodreads)



The Library of Legends: A Novel by Janie Chang 

Release Date: May 12, 2020



China, 1937: When Japanese bombs begin falling on the city of Nanking, nineteen-year-old Hu Lian and her classmates at Minghua University are ordered to flee. Lian and a convoy of more than a hundred students, faculty, and staff must walk a thousand miles to the safety of China’s western provinces, a journey marred by hunger, cold, and the constant threat of aerial attack. And it is not just the student refugees who are at risk: Lian and her classmates have been entrusted with a priceless treasure, a 500-year-old collection of myths and folklore known as the Library of Legends.

(Full description at Goodreads)



Daughter of the Reich: A Novel by Louise Fein 

Release Date: May 12, 2020



As the dutiful daughter of a high-ranking Nazi officer, Hetty Heinrich is keen to play her part in the glorious new Thousand Year Reich. But she never imagines that all she believes and knows about her world will come into stark conflict when she encounters Walter, a Jewish friend from the past, who stirs dangerous feelings in her. Confused and conflicted, Hetty doesn’t know whom she can trust and where she can turn to, especially when she discovers that someone has been watching her.

(Full description at Goodreads)

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Ebook Deals

Click the cover to view and buy the book in the Kindle store. While I only post links to the Kindle store, often times you can find the same titles on sale at other stores.

US Kindle Deals, fiction under $4, non-fiction under $6:

                             



UK Kindle Deals, fiction under £3, non-fiction under £4:

                       

Disclaimer: Ebook prices are subject to change anytime. I can only promise they are under a certain price at the time I post them.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...